After several hints and teases, SM Entertainment finally confirmed the much-awaited reunion of Girls' Generation. Taeyeon, Sunny, Tiffany, Hyoyeon, Yuri, Sooyoung, Yoona and Seohyun will once again take center stage as they celebrate their group's 15th debut anniversary.

Since 2021, there have been talks about Girls' Generation's comeback after dropping their last album in 2017. In fact, the members themselves have been hinting at the possibility of their reunion.

This will be the first time that the girls will reunite as a whole group in five years. AllKpop noted they would release a new album after dropping "Holiday Night" back in August 2017.

Of course, all eight members will be joining this much-awaited reunion. By the looks of it, there will be a new track that is set to become an instant hit following their trendy songs "Genie," "Run Devil Run," "Lion Heart," "Kissing You" and more.

Meanwhile, back in March, the group's leader, Taeyeon, teased the possibility of K-pop idols' reunion later this year, per NME. In an online fan signing event for her latest album, "INVU," a fan asked her about the potential comeback of Girls' Generation to celebrate their 15th anniversary.

Taeyeon revealed she believed making their long-awaited return this year was possible, though she didn't give any major details about it. This talk had quickly gone viral and instantly sparked rumors that a group comeback was about to happen.

In addition, all eight members of the group appeared on an episode of the South Korean TV show "You Quiz on the Block" to celebrate their 14th anniversary in September 2021. After four years, this appearance marked the first time they did an official activity as a group.

The reunion of Girls' Generation on the show first surfaced a month before it occurred and was later confirmed by a tvN representative. In a statement, the spokesperson revealed the members and their respective labels held a discussion to make it happen at the time.

After releasing their last album in 2017, Tiffany, Sooyoung and Seohyun announced they were leaving SM Entertainment, though they would remain as Girls' Generation members, GMA Network reported. Since then, they have been busy with their solo activities.

The remaining members under the said label, Taeyeon, Sunny, Hyoyeon, Yuri and Yoona, debuted as the sub-unit, Girls' Generation-oh!GG, in 2018. Fortunately, the long wait is over and Girls' Generation will be once again seen under the spotlight together.